Album Preview: The Greenhornes

Written by

Wow, a new album from The Greehornes. When they released their EP “East Grand Blues” I did not yet work at KCRW, though I was an avid listener and that is most definitely how I discovered the band. I remember nights driving around listening only to those 5 songs on repeat.

I would have been anxious for new material if the rhythm section hadn’t been a part of so many great releases over the past few years, including Loretta Lynn’s  Van Lear Rose album as well as albums by The Raconteurs and, in the case of bassist Jack Lawrence, The Dead Weather, as well.  No wonder there hasn’t been time for a new Greenhornes album.

As KCRW DJ Anne Litt shares, they are not only back, but better than ever:

“Lo and behold, like a bolt from the blue, they are back with a brand new record for us to enjoy!  It’s their first full album of new songs since 2002, and they are sounding tight, energized and full of the classic 60s-era garage rock vibe and Kinks- and Beatles-flavored sounds that drew me to them originally….with its delicious instrumentation, pop arrangements, or wry production, the new Greenhornes album feels like a trip home to a place I’ve never been.”

Check out the album streaming in its entirety as part of KCRW’s Album Preview series and view the tracklist below.


Greenhornes album artTrack listing

1. Saying Goodbye
2. Underestimator
3. Better Off Without It
4. Cave Drawings
5. Song 13
6. My Sparrow
7. Need Your Love
8. Left The world Behind
9. Go Tell Henry
10. Jacob’s Ladder
11. Get Me Out Of Here
12. Hard To Find