Fitz & the Tantrums: Pickin Up the Pieces

cover.jpgLos Angeles might not be the first place you think of when it comes to being the home of classic blue-eyed soul music, but Fitz of Fitz and the Tantrums is doing his best to change that.  Their debut album, Pickin’ Up the Pieces, to be released on renowned LA-based label Dangerbird Records, celebrates the infectious sounds of 60s-era R&B without being mere pastiche.  Punchy tracks like “Breakin’ the Chains of Love” & “MoneyGrabber” manage to sound both cutting-edge and timeless at the same time, echoing a range of artists from Tom Jones, David Ruffin, Daryl Hall and Raphael Saadiq.


But the group is not just a big soul voice – the band, anchored by the catchy interplay between organ, sax, bass & drums, is sharp and funky, featuring players having previously worked with Macy Gray, De La Soul and others.  And back-up singer Noelle Scaggs is much more than just a mere back-up; she’s a force all her own, expertly trading riffs with Fitz.  We here at KCRW were immediate fans of their debut EP, released a mere year and a half ago, but with this full album Fitz and the Tantrums is set to make themselves a household name.


Artist webpage:

Pickin’ Up the Pieces will be available on-demand from August 16 through September 14. The album will be released August 24.


Track listing
1. Breakin' The Chains of Love
2. Dear Mr. President
3. Pickin' Up The Pieces
4. MoneyGrabber
5. L.O.V.
6. News 4 U
7. Don't Gotta Work It Out
8. Rich Girls
9. Winds of Change
10. Tighter