New Pornographers: Together


For more than a decade, the New Pornographers have helped keep the spirit of the classic Power Pop sounds of the 70s alive for the New Millennial indie-rock crowd born too late to have enjoyed bands like the Raspberries, Big Star, Cheap Trick and Electric Light Orchestra in their heyday. They’ve also kept the concept of a “supergroup” viable, as all the members have made a name for themselves with their own projects, especially the primary trio of Carl Newman (who also records under the name AC Newman), Neko Case and Dan Bejar (who records under the band name Destroyer). For their 5th studio album, they build upon the sound of previous releases with a batch of mostly up-tempo songs that clearly show their individual strengths while displaying an uncannily sympathetic collaborative sensibility. From the driving cello stings from the record’s opener, “Moves,” to the saucy swagger of “Sweet Talk, Sweet, Talk,” to the rousing valedictory of the concluding track, “We End Up Together,” they have once again achieved the rare feat of creating an album that will be enjoyed by critics, fans and newcomers alike. Special guests include Zach Condon of Beirut, Annie Clark aka St. Vincent, Will Sheff of Okkervil River & the Dap-Kings’ horn section.

Together will be available on-demand April 26 through May 9, 2010.


Official artist website:


Track listing
1. Moves
2. Crash Years
3. Your Hands (Together)
4. Silver Jenny Dollar
5. Sweet Talk, Sweet Talk
6. My Shepherd
7. If You Can't See My Mirrors
8. Up In The Dark
9. Valkyrie In The Roller Disco
10. A Bite Out Of My Bed
11. Daughters Of Sorrow
12. We End Up Together