The Living Sisters: Harmony Is Real: Songs for a Happy Holiday

KCRW is not one of those radio stations that switch to a 24-hour holiday music format the day after Halloween (thank heavens!). That’s not to say we can’t get into the festive spirit when we get a superior record of seasonal music, but we generally wait to play it until closer to the end of the year. Well, it’s not quite Christmas in July, but even we felt the need to share Harmony Is Real: Songs for a Happy Holiday, the Living Sisters’ new collection of holiday tunes, as soon as we could!

Local singer/songwriters Eleni Mandell, Becky Stark, Inara George & Alex Lilly once again take a break from their own acclaimed solo projects to team-up for another batch of radiant harmonies and catchy tunes. But this time they celebrate Christmas, Hanukkah & the goodtime winter vibes with an album made up of memorable takes on holiday classics such as “Jingle Bells” & “Little Drummer Boy,” as well as nine sprightly originals, including “Christmas in California” & “Neon Chinese Christmas Eve.” You won’t even mind that it isn’t even Veterans Day yet – the infectious spirit of the Living Sisters’ new album will melt even the grinchiest heart.

-Eric J. Lawrence

Track List:

1. Harmony Is Real
2. Kadoka, South Dakota
3. Jingle Bells
4. Merry Happy Christmas
5. Skip the Sugar (Good Girl)
6. Christmas In California
7. Baby Wants A Basketball for Christmas
8. Little Drummer Boy
9. Neon Chinese Christmas Eve
10. Hanukkah
11. Silver Bells
12. Don't Go To Sleep 

Photo courtesy of the artist.