The Paradise Bangkok Molam International Band: 21st Century Molam

In a world-beat hungry universe, Thai music has had a great run recently. From over a decade of records from LA's own Thai garage-flavored Dengue Fever to this year's release of the native psych-rock collective Khun Narin's Electric Phin Band, traditional sounds from Thailand have been seductively combined with a variety of Western pop music styles in unique ways. The latest example is The Paradise Bangkok Molam International Band, whose debut record is quite spectacular. Coordinated by the brains behind Soundway's acclaimed "Sound of Siam" compilations, this is a great addition to the ongoing multicultural soundclash experiments we cherish.

-Eric J. Lawrence

Track List:

1. Sao Sakit Mae
2. Roob Lor Pu Tai
3. Kwang Noi Chaolay
4. Studio Lam Plearn
5. Diew Phin Rotfai Kwareo Soong
6. Lam San Disco
7. Zerng India Prayuk
8. Kiew Sao Pu Tai
9. Diew Khean Tidsoot
10. Show Wong Molam International
11. Lam Tang Wai Yook Pattana
12. Pu Tai Dub

Photo courtesy of the artist.