Garth Trinidad’s Tru Thoughts 18th Bday Mix

Written by

UK record label Tru Thoughts is celebrating 18 fine years and to celebrate, KCRW DJ Garth Trinidad produced an exclusive mix!

<!-- missing image -->

From Garth:

Tru Thoughts Recordings is celebrating 18 years of championing creative independence and progressive dance, soul, funk, and electronic music from around the world. Recognized as the home of super producer Quantic, and artists like Alice Russell and The Hot 8 Brass Band, the Brighton-based label has always boogied outside the box in their approach. So it came as no surprise when they asked me to compile a celebratory mixtape for the occasion – 18 years, why wait until 20? With coming of age and maturation into adulthood in mind, I spent weeks reviewing and digesting 18 years worth of their trademark sounds before hitting the record button. Hope you dig the result. A toast to Tru Thoughts – here’s to another 18! 

Garth was given access to the label’s rich catalogue and he showcased their sound with the below playlist. Give it a spin!

(*note* there is some strong language throughout the mix)


Mark De Clive Lowe – Take The Space Trane

Harleighblu – Real Good ft SpectraSoul

Hidden Orchestra – Spoken (KRTS Remix)

Pete Cannon meets Ghost Writerz – Safe No More

Quantic & Nidia Gongora – Amor En Francia (Sideswipe Remix)

Magic Drum Orchestra – Mash The Pigeon

Wildcookie – Flashy Flashy

Steady – Train Diligently

Deeds Plus Thoughts – Dayton Bumps

The Limp Twins – Moving Closer To The Sofa

The Quantic Soul Orchestra – Take Your Time, Change Your Mind (Quantic Mix)

Diesler – Sandcastles

The Quantic Soul Orchestra – Super 8 (Part 2)

Quantic & Combo Barbaro – Un Canto A Mi Tierra (Acappella)

Ty – Let’s Start

Harleighblu x StarKiller – Killing My Heart (Alpha 1 Remix)

Freddie Cruger – Over The Ocean featuring Desmond Foster

Wrongtom meets The Ragga Twins – Before

The Seshen – Colors Collide

Wildcookie – Autocoon

Maddslinky – Special featuring Omar (Simbad 4×4 Remix)

Titeknots – So Natural

Alice Russell – I’m The Man, That Will Find You

Jesse Fischer & Sly5thAve – Vein Melter

Anchorsong – Gyotens Kalimba (Sebastian Mullaert Intensification)

The Hot 8 Brass Band – Keepin’ It Funky