Ozomatli vs KCRW Soundclash on iTunes Today!

Written by

4p_1CD_walletFive KCRW DJs remixed songs from Ozomatli’s fifth studio album  “Fire Away” (Mercer Street / Downtown Records) and they are now available for purchase on iTunes for the first time. The six-song Ozomatli vs KCRW Soundclash EP, which also includes Ozomatli’s original version of their single “It’s Only Paper,” can be heard streaming on KCRW.com. (see below for tracklisting)

The Grammy-winning Latin ensemble got their start at KCRW. We were the first radio station to play Ozomatli’s music, long before they were signed to a label. The station also hosted their live performance debut in 1997 on Morning Becomes Eclectic

Ozomatli will be playing as part of KCRW’s World Festival show Viva Mexico! at the Hollywood Bowl on September 19. Raul Campos will host the evening, featuring Ozomatli, Calexico, Mexican Institute of Sound, Mariachi Reyna de Los Angeles, and Grandeza Mexican Folk Ballet Company.


Ozomatli vs KCRW Soundclash Tracklisting

1. Love Comes Down (Anne Litt remix)
Produced by Anne Litt and Mark Kilian. Featuring Sonos (vocals), Julio Moreno (percussion), Kim Carroll (charango). Mixed by Casey Stone.

2. 45 (Tom Schnabel remix)
Produced by Jeff Rona

3. Love Comes Down (Anthony Valadez remix)
Produced by A. Valadez. Featuring I, Ced (Keys & Bass), Itai Shapira (Sitar), Miguel Atwood-Ferguson (Strings), Mixed by Itai Shapira.

4. Are You Ready (it’sAByrd’s Bundao remix)
Produced by Aaron Byrd for SCS Productions

5. Malagasy Shock (Jason Bentley remix)
Produced by Jason Bentley and Chris “Smitty” Smith. Featuring Tom Holkenborg (bass, guitar)

6. It’s Only Paper