Tenacious D’s MBE Takeover & 2015 Festival Supreme Line Up

Written by

For Ticket information go to festivalsupreme.com

Here they are right now so join the fun! (The original image is no longer available, please contact KCRW if you need access to the original image.)

Tenacious D — Jack Black and Kyle Gass- announced the lineup for the 3rd annual Festival Supreme and they picked KCRW as the place to do it.

During the hostile hour-long takeover of the show, they played a bunch of tracks ranging from Van Halen to a capella artist, Bobby McFerrin, and Boston band, The Upper Crust.

Jack air drummed the first notes of “Hocus Pocus” by Focus and Kyle sang along to every word of “Lunch Hour” by Rupert Holmes (famous for the Pina Colada song).

Jack led a lively discussion with Kyle over the connections between humor and rock. He decided that it boiled down to spirit of rebellion and, in the case of Freddie Mercury, “thumbing his nose at authority.”

They even tried to figure out who wrote the first funny song. Jack suggested it was Mozart. All in all, they spent an hour teaching “the people about comedy and music together”, all with Jason Bentley tied up in the corner of the studio.

See the full tracklist below.

“Big Balls” — AC/DC
“Beercan” — Beck
“Hocus Pocus” — Focus
“Lunch Hour” — Rupert Holmes
“Bicycle Race” — Queen
“I Feel Good” — Bobby McFerrin
“Little Lord Fauntieroy” — The Upper Crust
“Ask Me Anything” — The Strokes
“Ice Cream Man” — Van Halen
“Fell in Love With a Girl” — White Stripes
“Lake of Fire” — Meat Puppets
“People are Strange” — The Doors
“Amazing Grace” — Aaron Neville