Thom Yorke and Nigel Godrich Debut New Songs During KCRW DJ Set

Written by
Atoms for Peace in KCRW’s Master Control from Jason’s point of view behind the mic!

What a way to end the week – with Thom Yorke and Nigel Godrich (Atoms for Peace) taking over the airwaves for a full hour and debuting some never before heard tracks.  Jason Bentley ceded his rein over Master Control to the duo, who started off with Charles Mingus “Mood Indigo”, described as “the perfect way to slide into your morning”.

It wasn’t long before we got to see some of Thom’s trademark dance moves, even from atop a stool. (He also played some mean air drums at the start of Joe Jackson’s “Different for Girls”.)

He later told Jason part of why he loves deejaying in the first place is so he can “have something to dance to”. He talked about being a DJ in college and “dancing myself silly” and then suddenly finding himself in a guitar band. He also mentioned the video for “Lotus Flower” where his moves were on full display. He said it was like “suddenly seeing yourself naked for the first time”.

Thom and Nigel are like a comedy duo when they get together, poking fun at each other in ways only the best mates can. They were head bobbing in unison to the Beastie Boys “Root Down” and dropped two super special tracks – one was an untitled “piano sketch” that Thom says he doesn’t even remember writing. The other, called “Honey Pot”, started as a remix for “All I Need” but turned it into a new song that no one heard until this morning.

Thom Yorke and Nigel Godrich Present “Honey Pot”

Listen to the full session here in the archives.


Atoms for Peace (Thom Yorke and Nigel Godrich) Guest DJ Set for KCRW

Charles Mingus – Mood Indigo
James Holden — Gone Feral
Ultraista — Party Line
Mursi Tribe/Olivia Wilde — Mursi Song
Hubba Hubba Group — Sumatra RNB
Quasimoto/Mad Villain — Shadows Of Tomorrow
Joe Jackson — Different For Girls
Hello Skinny — Aquarius
Beastie Boys — Root Down
Thom Yorke — Untitled Piano Sketch
Fracture & Neptune — Clissold Machine Drum Vip
Owiny Sigoma Band — Doyol Nyako Nam |
Falty DL — Finally Some Shit/The Rain
Philip Jeck — Wipe
Thom Yorke –Honey Pot