Your First 2015 Holiday Playlist: KCRW’s L.A. Zoo Lights music mix

Written by

Even if you can’t come to the Hollywood for the holidays, you can enjoy the mix starting now: KCRW x L.A. Zoo Lights can be streamed now via KCRW on Spotify, with the tracklist for perusal below.

Enjoy El Ten Eleven mixed with Andy Williams; new artist Grace Mitchell with a Shirley Horn remix; and “Baby Elephant Walk” with contemporary alt-dance band Saint Etienne’s “I Was Born On Christmas Day.”

L.A. Zoo Lights open TONIGHT (Nov. 27).

Eric J. Lawrence — holiday music aficionado — is KCRW’s music librarian and late-night DJ on Sundays, midnight to 3am.

Here is the 2015 KCRW L.A. Zoo Lights holiday tracklist (note: not all titles are available through Spotify):

1)  Corporal Blossom – “White Christmas”
2)  El Ten Eleven – “Point Breeze”
3)  The Free Design – “Close Your Mouth (It’s Christmas)”
4)  Flairs – “Truckers Delight”
5)  Django Django – “Default”
6)  Al Hirt – “Hooray for Santa Claus”
7)  Avid Dancer – “I Feel It”
8)  St. Etienne – “I Was Born on Christmas Day”
9)  John Tejada – “What the Bleep”
10)  Dr. Seuss – “You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch”
11)  Grace Mitchell – “NoLo”
12)  Andy Williams – “Kay Thompson’s Jingle Bells”
13)  Jose Gonzalez – “Let It Carry You” (Holy Ghost remix)
14)  Lucky Wander Boy – “Switched on Sugar Plum Fairies”
15)  Family of the Year – “Make You Mine”
16)  The Wombles – “Wombling Merry Christmas”
17)  Frankie Smith – “Double Dutch Bus”
18)  Disclosure – “Omen”
19)  Shirley Horn – “Winter Wonderland” (Christian Prommer remix)
20)  Al Caiola – “Baby Elephant Walk”
21)  Jean-Jacques Perrey – “E.V.A.”
22)  Belle & Sebastian – “The Monkeys Are Breaking Out the Zoo”