Blonde Redhead: Penny Sparkle

cover.jpgBlonde Redhead likes to keep us on our toes.  And they like to keep on their toes as well, as evidenced by their new album, Penny Sparkle.  Teaming up with Swedish production duo Van Rivers & The Subliminal Kid, the trio of vocalist & guitarist Kazu Makino and twin brothers Simone & Amedeo Pace incorporate an icy electronic sheen on their first album since their 2007 breakthrough album, 23.
By busting out of their home base of New York to the unfamiliar setting of Stockholm lends a touch of isolation to the record’s ten tracks.  Always leaning to the melancholy side of the spectrum, the band embraces it on tracks like “My Plants Are Dead” and “Love or Poison.”  But others bubble with a subtle optimism, such as the album opener, “Here Sometimes.”  Unmistakably the product of band fully in charge of their talents, they manage to step outside of themselves for Penny Sparkle.  Like a shiny zinc penny, Blonde Redhead’s latest is a sparkling addition to their catalog.

- Eric J. Lawrence, KCRW DJ and Music Librarian


Penny Sparkle will be On-Demand from September 6 through September 20. The album will be released on September 13, 2010.


Artist Website:


1. Here Sometimes
2. Not Getting There
3. Will There Be Stars
4. My Plants Are Dead
5. Love or Prison
6. Oslo
7. Penny Sparkle
8. Everything is Wrong
9. Black Guitar
10. Spain