Clap Your Hands Say Yeah: Hysterical

coverClap Your Hands Say Yeah are back with their third release, Hysterical. It has been a four year gap since Some Loud Thunder, their last full length record, and the band has evolved while retaining the familiar sound of their quirky pop and Alec Ounsworth’s crooning vocals. The rough edges found on their self-titled debut and Some Loud Thunder have been buffed out on this new record and while they feel like the same band (mostly due to those unmistakable vocals) their songwriting is better and more conventional at the same time.
During their break, Ounsworth released a solo album and a couple other band members were part of a project called Uninhabitable Mansions. It feels like the hiatus gave the band the space to come back fresh for this new album. Hysterical is the sound of the band finding its niche. It sounds effortless and streamlined, with a cleaner and crisper production quality that is a step above their last.  It is unique and heartening to see a band remain as fiercely independent as CYHSY, who have returned to self-releasing on this album.  Yet the band has also clearly grown up.  Maybe the naivety that is inevitably lost as a band progresses affects the music but no one can expect a band to put out the same album over and over (unless they have made a career of it). CYHSY fans will find a lot to like on this third album and will appreciate the growth, while others may long a bit for the less-perfect sound of the early days. Luckily their debut album will always be there ready to satiate that craving and the rest of us can enjoy where the band is headed.
- Chuck P, KCRW Music Host
Hysterical will be available to stream on demand from September 13 through October 11, 2011. The album will be released on Tuesday, September 20, 2011.

From the Archives: Clap Your Hands Say Yeah on Morning Becomes Eclectic

FRI SEP 16, 2005
Listen to/Watch entire show:
Legacy Player: Listen

Artist website:

Track listing
1. Same Mistake
2. Hysterical
3. Misspent Youth
4. Maniac
5. Into Your Alien Arms
6. In a Motel
7. Yesterday, Never
8. Idiot
9. Siesta (For Snake)
10. Ketamine And Ecstasy
11. The Witness' Dull Surprise
12. Adam's Plane