Cut Chemist: Sound of the Police

Cut Chemist is a local legend in Los Angeles, both for his involvement in bands such as Ozomatli and Jurassic-5 as well as for his own ground-breaking releases.  Cut (or Lucas MacFadden, as he’s known by his parents) is one of the recognized masters of turntablism, using the record player as a musical instrument by manipulating vinyl albums and singles both familiar and obscure to create whole new soundscapes. Together with fellow turntablist DJ Shadow, he released a series of live mixes of their unique skills.  These CDs were released in small quantities and have quickly become highly sought-after collectables.

For his latest solo release, Sound of the Police, Cut takes the same approach, using only a single turntable, a mixer, a loop pedal, and a collection of records with a particular focus on Ethiopian and Afro-Brazilian tunes.  Created to serve as a template for his appearance opening for legendary Ethiopian musician Mulatu Astatke last year, Sound of the Police is a fascinating display of physical and musical dexterity, bringing together disparate elements to create a listening experience that is as educational as it is impressive and listenable.

Recorded as two 20-minute-long tracks, Cut Chemist’s latest release connects the dots between the aesthetics of hip-hop and the music from which it derives – and as with his previous mixes it is a one-of-a-kind experience that instantly sets the mood and digs deep into the artistry of turntablism.
Sound of the Police will be available on-demand July 19 - August 17, 2010. The CD will be released Tuesday, July 27, 2010
Official artist website:

Track listing
1 Jungle Beat
2 Water Is Not The Enemy
3 Strictly Voodoo
4 Poly Rhythm
5 Nigeria To Niagara
6 Ajo
7 Arabian Cumbia
8 Nighting ale
9 Aqua bella
10 Povo De Santo  
11 Ethiopian Skank
12 Stuck in Sudan
13 Coast 2 Coast
14 Pedal to the Bongo
15 Just The Drummer
16 Adidas To Addis