DeVotchKa: 100 Lovers

Hosted by

coverDevotchka.jpgThe new Devotchka album, 100 Lovers, opens with the same intensity and melancholy that tore my heart up when I first heard their early records. Their sound remains totally original and truly their own – the flavors of Eastern Europe, dusty desert roads, Mexico, and flamenco. Both moody and triumphant all at the same time. Their sound is totally organic - real strings, real brass, real percussion, real handclaps. And, in our culture of bedroom albums, this one stands out sonically.

Their sound is also completely cinematic. In fact, I first worked with Devotchka when their music became the score for the film Little Miss Sunshine, for which I was Music Supervisor. The directors, Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris, were captivated by the cinematic sounds of the album How It Ends and together we conceived of the band creating more than just a song for the film, but creating the whole sound and score. Devotchka’s visual and filmic combination of sadness, dust and triumph in their music fit perfectly for the film family’s journey – both literally and figuratively. Dayton and Faris went on to direct a series of promos for the NBA playoffs and, again, Devotchka’s music fit the intensity of the promo spot.

Devotchka are a band who move slowly, taking a year to craft this album. I think that is what makes the album special – like my mom’s chili, simmering for hours and hours and getting better as it cooks slowly over the fire. This album from Devotchka is the sound of a band who continues to grow in their unique way with every album. Standout songs for me on 100 Lovers are “The Man From San Sebastian” and“Ruthless,” along with the almost title track, “One Hundred Other Lovers.”The precision with which Devotchka have created this album has made it an emotional, mesmerizing listen.
-- Anne Litt, KCRW Music Host
100 Lovers will be available to stream on demand from February 14 through March 15, 2011. The album will be released on Tuesday March 1, 2011.

DeVotchKa will perform live on Morning Becomes Eclectic on March 10, 2011.
Artist website:
Track listing
1. The Alley
2. All the Sand In All the Sea
3. 100 Other Lovers
4. The Common Good
5. Interlude 1
6. The Man From San Sebastian
7. Exhaustible
8. Interlude 2
9. Bad Luck Heels
10. Ruthless
11. Contrabanda
12. Sunshine





Anne Litt