Harleighblu: Forget Me Not

nullThis week, young Nottingham singer Harleighblu makes her album debut for the taste-making label Tru Thoughts. This fact alone should make one stand up and take notice, as the label is home to an eclectic, but spot-on roster that includes artists such as the Bamboos, Hidden Orchestra, Mark de Clive-Lowe and Quantic. Heady company surely, but Harleighblu warrants inclusion, as her album is stunning and fits in quite nicely.

Inspired by her mother’s rare groovy-heavy record collection and some early attention in local talent competitions that eventually led to gigging with artists ranging from Liam Bailey to Musical Youth, Harleighblu offers a hip-hop-infused brand of uptempo soul that demands attention. Echoes of other remarkable singers such as Amy Winehouse, Lauryn Hill, Jill Scott and labelmate Alice Russell drift throughout her various examinations of love, life and benefits of a good, old-fashioned funky groove. Also included on her album is a unique take on the Eurythmics’ classic, “Who’s That Girl,” which further reveals her ability to reinterpret and make such a song her own as well. All in all, it’s an impressive debut that guarantees she will not be forgotten.

- Eric J. Lawrence

Track List:

1. Enough Now
2. Casanova
3. Let Me Be
4. I Believe
5. Play me
6. Who s That Girl
7. This Way
8. Love Of My Life
9. How Deep Is Your Love
10. Sittin By The Window
11. Love Like This