Interpol: Interpol

cover.jpgNYC-based indie-rockers Interpol are in a unique position.  They are a band that has a significant legacy behind them, with their earlier recordings released on indie label Matador just after the turn of the millennium.  The band made their US live radio debut on KCRW's “Morning Becomes Eclectic” with Nic Harcourt in the summer of 2002, and left such an impression they were invited back a mere eight months later.  They are also one of the last major bands to be championed by the late UK DJ John Peel before his untimely death in 2004.  They were eventually picked up by Capitol Records in 2007, who released their third album that year.

Jump three years later and Interpol are in transition.  They are back with Matador Records for their long-awaited, self-titled fourth studio album.  They have teamed up with legendary mixer Alan Moulder, whose work with bands such as My Bloody Valentine, Depeche Mode and Nine Inch Nails informs the new album.  Original bassist Carlos D. worked on the album, but has since left the band, replaced for live performances by Dave Pajo of Slint on bass and Brandon Curtis of The Secret Machines on keyboards.  But these changes only energize the band, giving them an opportunity to venture into new territory on their new album, including on such melodic gems as “Barricade” and “Lights,” all the while maintaining their trademark ominous, dystopian sound.  Things go full circle as they record a special live performance for KCRW on the eve of the album’s release, to be broadcast on “Morning Becomes Eclectic” with Jason Bentley on Thursday, September 9.  With this new record, they reinvent themselves in a way that is sure to delight longtime fans, all the while pushing forward toward the future.

- Eric J. Lawrence, KCRW DJ and Music Librarian

Interpol will be On-Demand from September 4 through September 18. The album will be released on September 7, 2010.

Artist webpage:

Track listing
1. Success
2. Memory Serves
3. Summer Well
4. Lights
5. Barricade
6. Always Malaise (The Man I Am)
7. Safe Without
8. Try It On
9. All Of The Ways
10. The Undoing