Julian Casablancas: Phrazes for the Young

ap091130julian_casablancas_pCOVER115x115.jpgPhrazes for the Young” is the debut solo album from Julian Casablancas, well known as the lead singer and songwriter for The Strokes. For his first solo effort, Casablancas wrote and orchestrated every musical detail on the album, from poly-rhythmic drum beats to harmonizing guitar solos. The result is a perfect balance of experiment and rock standards that showcases his infectious classic hooks, distinctive boozy croon, and bouncy-synth swagger. The record was written and recorded over 18 months and for the project Casablancas teamed up with producer Jason Lader with additional production by Bright Eyes’ Mike Mogis. The album is composed of just eight tracks, yet the collection delivers a punch of perfect listening enjoyment -- rich songs that blossom with repeated listens. By the time you get to the last track you’re nearly ready to start listening all over again.

Phrazes for the Young streams on KCRW's Eclectic 24 at 8pm Monday, November 30 and will be available on-demand through December 29, 2009.


Official artist website: http://www.juliancasablancas.com/



Track listing:

1. Out of the Blue

2. Left & Right in the Dark

3. 11th Dimension

4. 4 Chords of the Apocalypse

5. Ludlow St.

6. River of Brakelights

7. Glass

8. Tourist