Kishi Bashi: String Quartet Live!

Indie rock violin master K. Ishibashi (or, as he records under, Kishi Bashi) has been the go-to guy for artists like Regina Spektor, Sondre Lerche, of montreal, and others when they're in need of some tasty violin licks. But it has been his own pair of solo albums that have struck a chord with discriminating music fans. Now he has released a live album of tracks from his prior albums, specifically arranged for a string quartet.

The songs get a new sheen with these beautiful arrangements, from the ballad "Manchester" to the uptempo jam "The Ballad of Mr. Steak." A special bonus is the inclusion of Bashi's string quartet version of the Talking Heads favorite, "This Music Be the Place (Naive Melody)." All is all, it is a wonderful survey of an intriguing new artist, in an intriguing, unique setting.

-Eric J. Lawrence


  1. Manchester
  2. Bittersweet Genesis for Him AND Her
  3. Atticus, In The Desert
  4. Carry On Phenomenon
  5. I Am the Antichrist to You
  6. This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)
  7. The Ballad of Mr. Steak
  8. Conversations at the End of the World
  9. In Fantastia