Los Lobos: Tin Can Trust

cover.jpgLos Lobos are more than just a band, they're an institution.  And not just a Los Angeles institution, as their 1978 album, Just Another Band from East L.A., satirically alerts us.  They are an international, Grammy-Award-winning, alternative rock (in the truest sense of the phrase) institution, whose newest release, Tin Can Trust, only proves the point.
Their first album of original material in four years, Tin Can Trust encapsulates the best of Los Lobos.  Recorded and self-produced in a small studio in the heart of East L.A., it features roots-rock tracks like "On Main Street" and the album's powerful opener, "I'll Burn It Down."  It features a danceable instrumental in "Do the Murray," and a savvy Grateful Dead cover with "West L.A. Fadeaway."  And it features a pair of stellar Spanish-language songs that recall their formative years.
There's a good reason why Los Lobos have been among the most frequently-invited guests on Morning Becomes Eclectic through the years.  As Tin Can Trust proves, it's institutional.

Tin Can Trust will be available on-demand July 26 - August 24, 2010. The CD will be released Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Artist webpage: http://loslobos.org

Track listing
1. Burn It Down
2. On Main Street
3. Yo Canto
4. Tin Can Trust
5. Jupiter or the Moon
6. Do the Murray
7. All My Bridges Burning
8. West L.A. Fadeaway
9. The Lady and the Rose
10. Mujer Ingrata
11. 27 Spanishes