Nostalgia 77: The Sleepwalking Society

Hosted by

Since the first release from Nostalgia 77 (aka Ben Lamdin) almost a decade ago, I've been a huge fan. So when I heard Lamdin was coming out with his fourth full-length album I couldn't wait to hear it.  As the winner of the John Peel "Play More Jazz" award and Gilles Peterson's nod for Jazz Track of the year, it's a no-brainer why the KCRW love for this artist is obvious. Lamdin has also collaborated with other household names like Quantic and Alice Russell.

The Sleepwalking Society
is the perfect soundtrack for driving up Pacific Coast Highway on a lazy Sunday afternoon as the sun sets over the sea.  The elements of funk, soul and jazz make for a perfect mixture that one can listen to start to finish without hesitation. I always look forward to new productions from Lamdin because he produces with such a wide variety of sounds and textures. Add some beautiful lyrics and vocals and the full depth of the record truly comes to life.  It's evident that he is always experimenting with new ideas and his growth as a producer is commended.  My first taste of the record was the track “Simmerdown.”  Immediately, I wanted to know who the gorgeous vocalist was...simply stunning.  It's German singer Josa Peit and she definitely takes things to the next level.  You can hear classic jazz influences in her voice, with a raw energy that is unique and classic all at the same time.  This is a disc that will stay in my player for a while.

-- Raul Campos, KCRW Music Host


The Sleepwalking Society will be available to stream on demand from March 15 through April 13, 20011. The album will be released on March 22, 2011.

Artist website:

Track listing:
1. Sleepwalker
2. Beautiful Lie
3. Simmerdown
4. Golden Morning
5. when Love is Strange
6. Blue Shadow
7. Mockingbird
8. Cherry
9. Hush





Raul Campos