Sonos: December Songs

coverIn the Summer of 2006, longtime KCRW DJ Tom Schnabel attended a concert by UCLA's Awaken A Cappella. To Tom's surprise, the ensemble performed a stunning version of Imogen Heap's "Hide and Seek". After the show, he approached the group to ask if they had recorded their rendition of the song. When he was told no, he highly encouraged the group to record their version and said we would support the music on-air at KCRW if they did so, since Imogen Heap’s original was such a big track at the station.

The group took Tom up on his offer.  Soon thereafter we were sent the freshly recorded version of “Hide and Seek” and in September of 2006 KCRW started giving it airplay. A friend of the station and artist manager, Hugo Vereker, heard the track on air and was struck by the performance. He attended the next Awaken A Capella concert in October 2006 and, afterward, he approached members of the group. One of those people was Jessica Freedman who introduced Hugo to others in their circle. Hugo explored with them the notion of creating an ensemble that would build on the concept indicated by the "Hide and Seek" cover.
And Sonos was born.
Their debut album SONOSings came out in September 2009, and featured a very KCRW-friendly assortment of unlikely cover songs exquisitely arranged by Sonos principal Chris Harrison. It immediately earned the love of the KCRW audience and the album was picked up for distribution by Verve Records.
Now, the band is releasing their follow-up, December Songs, featuring original tracks and a sly collection of offbeat seasonal offerings. It's the perfect antidote for cliche holiday fare and a bold next step building on what made their first album so beautifully distinct and memorable. December Songs is an instant classic, from a project that is quintessentially KCRW.
-- Chris Douridas, KCRW Music Host

Sonos: December Songs will be available on-demand from December 6, 2010 through January 4, 2010. The album was released November 23, 2010 and can be purchased here on iTunes.

Artist website:
Track listing
1. Ave Maria
2. All On A Christmas Morning
3. Come December
4. O Holy Night
5. Greensleeves
6. I Saw Three Ships
7. Come Thou Fount Of Every Blessing
8. Janette Isabella
9. For Samuel
10. Home