The Dead Weather: Sea of Cowards

cover115.jpgThere is little doubt Jack White is one of the most prolific men in rock and roll these days.  The singer/songwriter/guitarist/producer/record label owner’s latest band project, The Dead Weather, was first unleashed upon the world only a little over a year ago but with this new release we are already treated to their second album of gritty, explosive blues-rock.
Having put out their debut record last July, embarked on a world tour, offered up a handful of singles and now a brand new album in such a short span has only sharpened the band’s edge.  White takes his turn behind the drum kit for The Dead Weather, leaving the guitar-work for Queens of the Stone Age guitarist Dean Fertita and The Kills’ Alison Mosshart, who also joins White on vocals.  The band is rounded out by White’s compatriot from his other band project The Raconteurs, Jack Lawrence, on bass.
While there are clear echoes to White’s longest-standing band, The White Stripes, the blues is dirtier and the rock is heavier on Sea of Cowards.  Fresh from their acclaimed set at the 2010 Coachella music festival, The Dead Weather are ready to claim their position as today’s rawest rock’n’rollers. So dig in and enjoy this gripping and arresting new collection of songs (before Jack White gets antsy and releases another record or two).
Official artist website:

Sea of Cowards will be available on-demand May 4 - May 17, 2010

Track listing
1. Blue Blood Blues
2. Hustle and Cuss
3. The Difference Between Us
4. I’m Mad
5. Die By The Drop
6. I Can’t Hear You
7. Gasoline
8. No Horse
9. Looking at the Invisible Man
10. Jawbreaker
11. Old Mary