The Twilight Saga: New Moon OST

new_moon.jpgNew Moon is the second film in the Twilight series based on Stephenie Meyer's popular vampire romance books.

The film soundtrack offers a darker, more sophisticated album than its predecessor featuring a stand-out collection of original songs from a stellar roster of indie-rockers and alt-folk singer-songwriters. “New Moon” deftly skirts the teen-flick soundtrack cliches by focusing first and foremost on the music and staying true to the sound of each of artist’s unique style.

Contributors include Death Cab for Cutie, Band of Skulls, Lykke Li, Anya Marina, Bon Iver, St. Vincent, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Hurricane Bells, Sea Wolf, Grizzly Bear, Editors and score composer Alexandre Desplat. The mix of tracks come together to create a uniquely consistent and introspective album, that could stand by itself even without a blockbuster film to back it up.

New Moon OST streams on KCRW's Eclectic24 at 8 PM, Monday, November 9 and will be available on-demand through November 15, 2009.

Official soundtrack website:

1. Meet Me On The Equinox - Death Cab For Cutie
2. Friends - Band Of Skulls
3. Hearing Damage - Thom Yorke [NOT AVAIL ON DEMAND]
4. Possibility - Lykke Li
5. A White Demon Love Song - The Killers [NOT AVAIL ON DEMAND]
6. Satellite Heart - Anya Marina
7. I Belong To You [New Moon Remix] - Muse [NOT AVAIL ON DEMAND]
8. Rosyln - Bon Iver & St. Vincent
9. Done All Wrong - Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
10. Monsters - Hurricane Bells
11. The Violet Hour - Sea Wolf
12. Shooting The Moon - Ok Go [NOT AVAIL ON DEMAND]
13. Slow Life - Grizzly Bear with Victoria Legrand
14. No Sound But The Wind - Editors
15. New Moon [The Meadow] - Alexandre Desplat

Banner image: Kimberly French/Summit Entertainment