Tom Waits: Glitter and Doom Live


Glitter and Doom Live is a collection of the best of the best tracks from Tom Waits' sold out, highly-acclaimed Glitter and Doom tour of the US and Europe in the summer of 2008. The album is designed to sound like one evening's performance, although the 17 tracks are selected from 10 cities, from Paris to Birmingham; Tulsa to Milan; and Atlanta to Dublin. The album features all eras of Waits' eclectic glory as he shifts seamlessly through an array of characters: carnival barker, preacher, country singer, soul balladeer; cabaret singer and storyteller. Waits is backed by a versatile five-piece band, and in these live performances he often departs from the songs' original incarnations, rearranging and reimagining the instrumentation and rhythms.  The album delivers on all fronts of Waits’ stylistic range, embracing swampy tribal influences, ominous hymns, gypsy flavored ballads, rhythmic R&B, and angular surreal rock.

Glitter and Doom Live streams on KCRW's Eclectic 24 at 8pm Monday, November 23 and will be available on-demand through November 25, 2009.

Official artist website:


Track Listing

1. Lucinda / Ain't Goin Down (Birmingham 07/03/08)

2. Singapore (Edinburgh 07/28/08)

3. Get Behind The Mule (Tulsa 06/25/08)

4. Fannin Street (Knoxville 06/29/08)

5. Dirt In The Ground (Milan 07/19/08)

6. Such A Scream (Milan 07/18/08)

7. Live Circus (Jacksonville 07/01/08)

8. Goin' Out West (Tulsa 06/25/08)

9. Falling Down (Paris 07/25/08)

10. The Part You Throw Away (Edinburgh 07/28/08)

11. Trampled Rose (Dublin 08/01/08)

12. Metropolitan Glide (Knoxville 6/29/08)

13. I'll Shoot The Moon (Paris 07/24/08)

14. Green Grass (Edinburgh 07/27/08)

15. Make It Rain (Atlanta 07/05/08)

16. Story (Columbus 06/28/08)

17. Lucky Day (Atlanta 07/05/08)


Banner image: Michael T. Regan