Ty Segall: Manipulator

In the short six or so years Ty Segall has been releasing music under his own name (not to mention the couple of years previous in the band Epsilons), he has been prolific enough to establish himself as a brand name.

And not merely a brand denoting a specific type of music, as his records all flirt around subtle but distinct garage rock varieties, from psychedelic rave-ups to sludgy stoner jams to melancholic acoustic tunes, such as on his Sleeper album of last year.

More importantly the Ty Segall brand signifies quality, passion and thoughtful songcraft, all of which are in evidence on his new double-album, Manipulator (out on Drag City on 8/26).

Hardcore fans will assure you there are no wrong turns in the Segall discography, but for the uninitiated you have to start somewhere.

Manipulator seems a perfect place to begin, with some of his most accessible tendencies on display, complete with Bowie-esque glam throwbacks (complete with richly textured strings arranged by Mikal Cronin) and some of the hookiest melodies of his catalog.

We’re glad to have Mr. Segall injecting his brand into the local music scene and to be able to be able to share this album stream with you.

-Eric J. Lawrence

Track List:

1. Manipulator
2. Tall Man, Skinny Lady
3. The Singer
4. It's Over
5. Feel
6. The Faker
7. The Clock
8. Green Belly
9. The Connection Man
10. Mister Main
11. The Hand
12. Susie Thumb
13. Don't You Want to Know? (Sue)
14. The Crawler
15. Who's Producing You?
16. The Feels
17. Stick Around 

Photo courtesy of the artist