Vetiver: The Errant Charm

Hosted by

Vetiver: The Errant Charm

 By literal definition, Vetiver is intoxicating.  With this fifth release, the dictionary couldn’t be more accurate.  The feel good and dreamy folky sounds are nearly addictive on the new record, The Errant Charm.  The band has definitely evolved over the years.  Fronted by Andy Cabic and past collaborators, which include KCRW favorite Devendra Banhart, Vetiver has matured from the freak folk movement of years back to much more than that.  The use of dynamics in the vocals and drum machines in the music help create moody and uplifting emotions in the tunes.  At the same time, the deep lyrics stay true to Cabic’s sensibility as a singer and a songwriter.
The first time I heard the album I was instantly hooked by the ambient feel and lush vocals of the lead-off track “It’s Beyond Me.”  By the time I reached “Can’t You Tell” with the cool organ stabs and drum patterns, I was fully into the journey the music was taking me on.  It’s not often you hear an album that has the ability take you on such an escape.  But The Errant Charm does that.  It is the kind of record you can listen to at work on headphones when you need a pick me up or want to shake off the feeling of sitting stagnant at a desk. The music travels, and seems to pull your imagination along with it.  It is just gorgeously hypnotizing.
Based in San Francisco, the urban influence on Vetiver also shines through on the new record.  It is perfect for a summer stroll or a sunset drive.  Many of the lyrics actually were inspired as Cabic walked around San Francisco’s Richmond District, just north of Golden Gate Park.  Being a total urbanite, I love walking around downtown areas, city streets and exploring new places, so I can relate to how this aided in the creative process.  Whether you are meandering from place to place or just chillin’ in your living room, this is the perfect soundtrack for it.  I definitely recommend you pick up the album when it comes out on the 14th of June.
-- Raul Campos, KCRW Music Host

The Errant Charm will be available to stream on demand from June 6 through July 5, 2011. The album will be released June 14, 2011.

Artist website:
Track listing
1. It's Beyond Me
2. Worse For Wear
3. Can't You Tell
4. Hard To Break
5. Fog Emotion
6. Right Away
7. Wonder Why
8. Ride Ride Ride
9. Faint Praise
10. Soft Glass





Raul Campos