Wilco: The Whole Love

Hosted by

cover Jeff Tweedy is one the most prolific singer-songwriters of our generation and the sound of Wilco is one of gorgeous melodies, catchy hooks, and of course, a little bit of twang.  When we got word here at KCRW that we were able to stream the new album, The Whole Love, as part of our Album Preview series I got very excited as I have been a big fan for many years.  I have always admired Tweedy for being outspoken and telling us how he sees it and how it is, with no holds barred.  That staunch integrity and individualism is also reflected in the band’s decision to leave their record label. The Whole Love is their inaugural record on their own label, dBpm (decibels per minute) and it feels like an appropriate place for this new release. They've basically taken it back to basics.  The entire crew took off the later half of 2010 as a vacation.  According to Tweedy, it was a way to "recharge and forget how to play all the old songs."
After 15 years of Wilco, taking a break from touring and writing was a way for the band to do something new and fresh, and it shows.  In the era of singles and downloads it is rare to see an artist really embrace the album idea where there is a beginning, a journey and an end.  Right from the start, the record grabs you with an epic 7 minute piece, “Art of Almost,” that sets the tone.  Immediately you hear the musical experimentation that we've been hearing more and more on recent Wilco albums.  Seeing the band perform many times in recent years, The Whole Love is also very representative of their live shows.  You get the pumping rockers and the beautiful ballads.  The release rounds out with a fantastic 12 minute tune called One Sunday Morning (Song for Jane Smiley’s Boyfriend) that exemplifies the range of Wilco's music.  It is a song that is not over-produced, yet magical and beautiful and you wish it would not end.  It's a perfect example of how great this band really is.

-- Raul Campos, KCRW Music Host
The Whole Love will be available to stream on demand from September 19 through October 02, 2011. The album will be released on Tuesday, September 27, 2011.

Artist website: http://wilcoworld.net
Track listing
1. Art of Almost
2. I Might
3. Sunloathe
4. Dawned On Me
5. Black Moon
6. Born Alone
7. Open Mind
8. Capitol City
9. Standing O
10. Rising Red Lung
11. Whole Love
12. One Sunday Morning (Song for Jane Smiley’s boyfriend)





Raul Campos