KCRW’s Top 30 chart: June 17–23, 2024

Written by

Jamie xx breathes new “Life” into the top of KCRW’s weekly chart. Photo by Alasdair McLellan

Dancefloor magician Jamie xx at last finds his way to number one on KCRW’s Top 30 chart by way of “Life,” a meeting-of-the-minds collab with Robyn which shows up just in time to obliterate any mid-Pride exhaustion that might be starting to set in. Each new single that xx shares gets us even more hyped for his sophomore LP In Waves (due Sept. 20 via Young).

New and notable: A heavy turn-over week means a robust new and notable section so let’s dive in. San Diego’s Thee Sacred Souls announce their new LP, Got a Story to Tell, with the dreamy single “Lucid Girl.” Aussie electropop titans  RÜFÜS DU SOL finally share “Music Is Better” — a song that the heads have been onto since they served it up at Coachella earlier this year. Plus, Val Fleury’s “Technically” is a future club classic with a pertinent message about the tracks that paved its way.

Top 30 Albums (6.25.2024)

1 Jamie xx “In Waves”
2 Ezra Collective “Dance, No One's Watching”
3 Fontaines D.C. “Romance”
4 Aaron Frazer “Into the Blue”
5 Chicano Batman “Notebook Fantasy”
6 Mavis Staples “Worthy” [Single]
7 Thee Sacred Souls “Got a Story to Tell”
8 Swim Surreal & Zero7 “In the Half Light”
9 Moby “Always Centered At Night”
10 Various Artists “Everyone's Getting Involved: A Tribute To Talking Heads' Stop Making Sense”
11 Mermaid Chunky “slif slaf slof”
12 Hiatus Kaiyote “Love Heart Cheat Code”
13 RÜFÜS DU SOL “Music is Better” [Single]
15 James Blake “Thrown Around” [Single]
16 James Blake “CMYK 002”
17 Manu Chao “Viva tu” [Single]
19 Peggy Gou “I Hear You”
20 Tom Misch “Cinnamon Curls” [Single]
21 Fink “One Last Gift”
22 Clairo “Charm”
23 Matty “Pops”
24 Peter Cat Recording Co. “BETA”
25 Val Fleury “Technically” [Single]
26 RJD2 “Visions Out of Limelight”
27 Milton Nascimento & Esperanza Spalding “Milton + esperanza”
28 Pale Jay “Low End Love Songs”
29 Soweto Gospel Choir x Groove Terminator “Pride (A Deeper Love)” [Single]
30 Mondo Cozmo “It's PRINCIPLE!”