Musical Potpourri Pt. 2

Sometimes I just feel like sharing music I love regardless of whether it’s new or old and no matter the genre. There are plenty of others crowing about what’s new, but often what is older is better since it’s stood the test of time.

That’s certainly true for Howlin’ Wolf (né Chester Burnett). He’s a Mississippi-born blues shouter I’ve always loved. I picked-up a budget 3-cd set for a song recently.

Dub Syndicate on the great UK-label On-U Sound comes next. On-U Sound was a big influence on some of the edgier pop sounds we hear today.  We follow it with some desert blues from Niger’s Bombino.

An inspirational cut from a new album by trumpeter Darren English is next. “Pledge for Peace” features words by the late Nelson Mandela.

After that, an evergreen from Lebanon’s first lady of song, Fairouz, a love song to Beirut from 1988, with music based on the famous Concierto de Aranjuez by Joaquin Rodrigo.

Jacques Brel’s final recording, “Les Marquises (The Marquesas)” follows. Haunting and beautiful, it is an ode to mortality amidst the beauty of tropical Polynesia, where he had been living before his early death at 49 from cancer.

We change gears next and hear a rare 12″ extended mix of Ryuichi Sakamoto’s song “Risky”, featuring Iggy Pop on vocals.

Algerian-born, French-based Souad Massi follows with a beautiful song, “Beb El Madhi” (Door to the Guided Room).

And, finally, a crazy fun song from Bill Laswell and his band Material, featuring William S. Burroughs reciting the various Egyptian deities.

Hope you enjoy the show!

Rhythm Planet Playlist for 4/1/16:

  1. Howlin’ Wolf / “Howlin’ Wolf Boogie” / The Absolutely Essential 3 CD / Big 3
  2. Dub Syndicate / “Night Train” / Classic Selection Vol. 1 / On-U Sound
  3. Bombino / “Inar (If You Know the Degree of My Love for You)” / Azel / PTKF
  4. Darren English / “Pledge For Peace” / Imagine Nation / Hot Shoe Records
  5. Fairouz / “Li Beirut” / Maarifti Feek / EMI MUSIC ARABIA
  6. Jacques Brel / “Les Marquises” / Les Marquises / Barclay
  7. Ryuichi Sakamoto / “Risky (Featuring Iggy Pop)” / 12″ Extended Mix / Epic
  8. Souad Massi / “Beb El Madhi” / Deb / Wrasse Records
  9. Material / “Seven Souls” / Seven Souls / Innerhythmic Records

RP Logo





Tom Schnabel