State Dept: Don’t travel to Michoacán, Sinaloa, and 3 other Mexican states

The U.S. State Department is telling Americans not to travel to five Mexican states. The states are in the same warning category as Syria, Somalia, and Yemen. In the first 11 months of last year, Mexico recorded more than 22,000 deaths due to drug and gang violence.