2013 Mercury Prize Nominees Announced!

Written by

All of this year’s Mercury Prize nominees have been heard on KCRW’s airwaves so we are especially proud of this bunch. The Mercury Prize is essentially an album of the year award for best UK album and the 12 nominees are chosen by a panel of British music critics and industry folks. See the full list below!

Two of our favorites Lauras made the list – Laura Mvula and Laura Marling. Mvula made her US radio debut on KCRW just a few months ago.

And, on her second visit to our studio, Marling stunned us with just her voice and an acoustic guitar.

The two brothers behind Disclosure recently stopped by the station for an interview with Jason Bentley for the Saturday dance show Metropolis, as did another electro trailblazer Jon Hopkins.

Jake Bugg played KCRW’s SXSW showcase this year, just a month after gifting us with this acoustic version of “Broken” on MBE.

Stopping by between two Coachella gigs, James Blake played a gorgeous rendition of “Retrograde” for a small audience of fans.

Villagers, Savages and Foals have all appeared on MBE this year as well!

Congrats and good luck to everyone.

2013 Mercury Prize Nominees

Arctic Monkeys – “AM”
David Bowie – “The Next Day”
Disclosure – “Settle”
Foals – “Holy Fire”
Jake Bugg – “Jake Bugg”
James Blake – “Overgrown”
Jon Hopkins – “Immunity”
Laura Marling – “Once I Was an Eagle”
Laura Mvula – “Sing to the Moon”
Rudimental – “Home”
Savages – “Silence Yourself”
Villagers – “Awayland”