Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse: Dark Night of the Soul

dark_cover.jpgWith one of the most tortured paths to eventual release of all time, Danger Mouse and Sparklehorse’s collaborative album Dark Night of the Soul is finally being made available to music fans everywhere this month.  But it almost didn’t happen.

Rumors of the project first began to circulate in early 2009.  In addition to the two title artists, the album was slated to feature special appearances from an army of amazing guests, including The Flaming Lips, Julian Casablancas of The Strokes, Frank Black of The Pixies, Iggy Pop, Suzanne Vega, James Mercer of The Shins (in anticipation of his work with Danger Mouse in Broken Bells), and David Lynch (whose photography was to grace a deluxe edition of the record), to name just a few.  But due to contractual issues, it was prevented from coming out at that time.  The package, complete with Lynch’s photos, did get released in a limited edition, but it was accompanied by a blank CD.  A very few outlets, including KCRW, managed to get a copy of the music to play for its listeners, but it was not available for sale and word was that it may never be legally distributed.

Thankfully, more than a year later, the parties were able to work things out and this beautiful, haunting album can now be officially released.  However this news is tempered by the fact that Mark Linkous, the main force behind Sparklehorse,  tragically took his life on March 6, 2010.  Consequently the record becomes a posthumous tribute to Linkous’ unique, oft-overlooked talent.

Hear an exclusive interview with Danger Mouse and David Lynch on KCRW’s Politics of Culture, hosted by KCRW Music Director Jason Bentley on Tuesday, July 13, 2010.

Official artist website: http://www.dnots.com/

Dark Night of the Soul will be available on-demand July 5 - August 3, 2010. The CD will be released Tuesday, July 13, 2010.

Track listing
1. Revenge (featuring The Flaming Lips)
2. Just War (featuring Gruf Rhys from Super Furry Animals)
3. Jaykub (featuring Jason Lytle from Grandaddy)
4. Little Girl (featuring Julian Casablancas from the Strokes)
5. Angels Harp (featuring Black Francis from The Pixies)
6. Pain (featuring Iggy Pop/lyrics by Iggy Pop)
7. Star Eyes (I Can't Catch It) (featuring David Lynch)
8. Everytime I'm With You (featuring Jason Lytle from Grandaddy)
9. Insane Lullaby (featuring James Mercer from the Shins/Broken Bells)
10. Daddy's Gone (featuring Mark Linkous from Sparklehorse and Nina Persson from The Cardigans)
11. The Man Who Played God (featuring Suzanne Vega)
12. Grim Augury (featuring Vic Chestnutt)
13. Dark Night Of the Soul (featuring David Lynch)