Fink: Perfect Darkness

Hosted by

finkcoverEnglish singer/songwriter Fin Greenall does a good job of defying expectations.  Taking the possibly self-deprecating nom-de-plume of Fink is one such example.  Another is by releasing his records through acclaimed electronic music label Ninja Tune, as his music owes more to the expansive folk-rock sounds of Nick Drake and John Martyn than label stalwarts such as Coldcut or Mr. Scruff.  But in the grand scheme of things it all seems to make a sort of sense, as his quietly epic songs exude a chill vibe that have made fans of Zero 7, Nitin Sawhney, Gilles Peterson and legions of others.
After taking a breather in the wake of his breakthrough 2009 album, Sort of Revolution, where in his guise as "songwriter in demand" he wrote songs from artists such as John Legend and Ximena Sariñana, he returns with his fifth full-length record, Perfect Darkness.  Picking up where its predecessor left off, this new album celebrates the movement through the dark times and onto the other side.  Songs like “Fear Is Like Fire,” “Yesterday Was Hard on All of Us” and the title cut demonstrate Greenall’s sense of scope & his subtle finger-picking, recalling the best of artists like Jose Gonzales and Ray LaMontagne.  It’s a record that begs for introspection and contemplation, which makes it a perfect choice for exploring courtesy of KCRW’s Album Preview.
-- Eric J. Lawrence, KCRW Music Host
Perfect Darkness will be available to stream on demand July 11 through August 9, 2011. The album will be released on Tuesday, July 19, 2011.


FinkListen to Fink from the KCRW MBE archive

THU DEC 3, 2009
Host: Jason Bentley


Artist website:
Track listing

1. Perfect Darkness
2. Fear Is Like Fire
3. Yesterday Was Hard On All Of Us 
4. Honesty
5. Wheels
6. Warm Shadow
7. Save It For Somebody Else
8. Who Says
9. Foot In The Door
10. Berlin Sunrise