Joe Henry: Reverie

Hosted by

reverie.jpgI love Joe Henry. I have known him for almost as many years as I have been in Los Angeles, and every single time I encounter him I walk away a better man. Lucky for us Angelenos he chose to relocate to the West Coast from his Michigan upbringing. His presence has enriched our fair city as an outpost of a new breed of world class artistry.
As a producer, Joe has steered recent projects by Mose Allison, Lisa Hannigan, Bettye Lavette, and Grammy darlings Solomon Burke and Carolina Chocolate Drops.
As an artist, Joe has ripened into such a marvelous original, right before our very eyes. His new album, Reverie, is so appropriately titled. This listening is a slow burn. Like rich mahogany, the music is imbued with deep hues and years of growth.
Even before the first note, we feel as if we are in the room. The space has a sound, and the session is organic from the ground up. But the real prize is the music itself, a freewheeling assortment of all things of quality.  Give this one some time.
-- Chris Douridas, KCRW Music Host
Reverie will be available to stream on demand from October3 through November 1, 2011. The album will be released on Tuesday, October 11, 2011.
Artist website:
Track listing
1. Heaven´s Escape
2. Odetta
3. After The War
4. Sticks & Stones
5. Grand Street
6. Dark Tears
7. Strung
8. Tomorrow Is October
9. Piano Furnace
10. Deathbed Version
11. Room At Arles
12. Eyes Out For You
13. Unspeakable
14. The World And All I Know