KCRW Broadcast 143


I am somewhere in Cuba at the moment, not exactly sure of the name of this place. So far, it’s been a lot of days of no internet. If you are reading this, it means I got online and was able to get this posted.
Cuba has been great, so far. The weather is surprisingly cool and dry compared to what I thought it was going to be like.
If I get back here again, I will spend more time in Havana, that was the part I liked the most.
Now, let’s get into these tunes.
Tonight, we will be all together, live on the radio. The X, the Double B, you and me. What a show we have lined up for you. Lots of new bands and as always, the very best jams we can deliver. I just got this Xeno & Oaklander CD and while they have not invented anything new perhaps, they do an established thing rather well and I am glad that people are still making records like this, so we will check out a track.
Tonight, you get another Vum track, this time from a previous releases. I asked the band to send me a copy of the songs so we could get them on the radio. I hope you have had a chance to check out their Night Sun album.
Here’s the info again from last week:

Finally, the Vum album is out. It’s a local LA-area band that I think is really great and their album Night Sun is in high rotation at my place. The later at night you play it, the better it works. Here’s some info from the Vum site: “The vinyl will be at Amoeba, Vacation Vinyl, Mono Records, Vinyl Solution, & Fingerprints, & also available via mail-order through us: http://vummusic.bandcamp.com/.”
You should note that the LP was only pressed in an edition of 300. If you want to get on that, now is better than later. You can check them out easily right here: http://soundcloud.com/vum/sets/night-sun/.

I don’t know anything about the Grooms but I am liking this record. I believe it’s on Kanine. Also, really great Oh Sees track tonight. New split 12” with Total Control. Vinyl comes in black and a colored edition that I am forgetting the combination of at this time. Comes with a download card so you can put the tracks in your digital system.
The Beach Boys SMilE Sessions box set is finally out. We will be getting into that one more for sure. I have yet to check out all my SMilE bootlegs and see what I might have that didn’t make the box so we can some of those tracks on as well. Tonight, we get into one of my more favorite tracks off the album.
Tonight’s stand out track for me is this crazy Doug Randle song. What an album! Subversive and way out there. I didn’t get it at first but then the lyrics started getting to me and I had to go back to the top of the album and start again. This is a great one.
Matt Payne comes back with another rap smasher as only he can lay it down. Now and then, Mr. Payne sends me a new track and gives me the green light to play it.
Our second hour gets ever so slightly conceptual. We start and end with Beatles but look more closely and you will see how we are twisting the narrative, if you will. You might also notice a Fall concept happening in the second hour as well.
Thanks to Ian MacKaye for supplying the show with clean Faith tracks that we can play without having to watch it.
All in all, as you can see, this is a show that should not be missed. What, with all the corny humor and gratuitous attacks on my boss Jason “J Money” Bentley, it is sure to an all time low! Come on, settle for a downgrade, turn-it-up-man and STAY FANATIC!!!  --Henry
E-mail address for me: Henryontheradio@gmail.com
Follow me on Twitter: @henryrollins
01. Motley Crue – I Am Jason Bentley / Too Eclectic For Love
02. Parliament - Chocolate City / Chocolate City
03. Xeno & Oaklander - Corrupt / Sets & Lights
04. Kit - Night Time / Broken Voyage
05. Vum - Shadow In The Spotlight / Strange Attractor
06. Thin Lizzy - Buffalo Gal (overdubbed & remixed) / Shades Of A Blue Orphanage
07. Grooms – Prom / Prom
08. Thee Oh Sees - Dead Energy / split w/ Total Control
09. The Beach Boys - Vega-Tables / The SMilE Sessions
10. Doug Randle - Coloured Plastics / Songs For The New Industrial State
11. Buzzcocks - Something’s Gone Wrong Again / Singles Going Steady
12. Matt “Crucifix” Payne - Seek to Find / Elevation
13. Beatles - Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band / Sgt. Pepper's (mono)
14. Iggy & The Stooges - I'm Sick Of You (bonus track) / Raw Power
15. Kanuni Garbis - Ouchak Canto Guzel Tourna / To What Strange Place
16. David Bowie - Sound & Vision / Low
17. The Other Half - Mr. Pharmacist / Mr. Pharmacist & Lost Singles
18. Hank Mizell - Jungle Rock / The King Federal Rockabillys
19. Monks - I Hate You / Black Monk Time
20. Rhythm Kings - The Promise / Those Shocking, Shaking Days: Indonesia Hard, Psychedelic, Progressive Rock And Funk 1970-1978
21. Weirdos - Happy People / Destroy All Music
22. Faith - What's Wrong With Me (clean) / Faith First Demo +
23. Dinosaur Jr - Friends / Farm
24. Gen X - Ugly Rash / Kiss Me Deadly
25. Beatles - Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise) (mono)
26. The Fall - Day In The Life / The Fall Box Set