L.A. votes: Garcetti wins race for mayor

Written by

Race_575x200 copy

6:31 am: Eric Garcetti wins, Wendy Greuel concedes. Well, it happened in the wee dark hours (the LA Times posted its story at 3:27 am), but as Los Angeles wakes up Wednesday morning, the results are unambiguous: Eric Garcetti will become the next mayor of Los Angeles, succeeding Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa, who is termed out of office. The final count is Garcetti 54 percent to Greuel’s 46 percent.

In another race that was called even earlier in the early morning, Mike Feuer handily beat incumbent Carmen Trutanich in the City Attorney’s race.

10:28 pm: It’s now two-and-a-half hours since the polls closed. A few more ballots have been counted (a very few) but the trends haven’t changed. A virtual tie in the mayor’s race and most everything else way too close to call given how many ballots have yet to be tallied. We’ll have complete results here tomorrow morning and on Morning Edition with Chery Glaser. Good night and good luck, Los Angeles!

9:41 pm: And by soon, we mean not very soon at all. Still waiting …

9 p.m.: Results are trickling in! In the race for mayor, Wendy Greuel and Eric Garcetti are neck and neck with about 160,000 mail-in ballots cast. In the City Attorney’s race, Mike Feuer has an early and substantial lead over incumbent Carmen Trutanich. And, in the City Controller’s contest, Ron Galperin has a small lead over Dennis Zine.

Among the three competing medical marijuana initiatives, Proposition D, which would cap the number of dispensaries allowed in city limits, is the only initiative to be winning.

More results soon.

8 pm: The polls have closed in Los Angeles and the City Clerk’s office is starting the tally. Angelenos voted today to select a new mayor, a controller and a city attorney. Also on the ballot was an alphabet of pot initiatives: Propositions D, E, F, which all attempt to codify the city’s medical marijuana businesses. There are also a couple City Council and LA school board races on the ballot.

Election results will be available at the City Clerk’s website when the polls close. We’ll keep a record of winners and losers as well. Stay tuned!