Nepal earthquake: How to help

Written by

IFRC/Carl Whetham, Kathmandu, Nepal

IFRC/Carl Whetham, Kathmandu, Nepal

Updated: May 12, 2015

Another earthquake struck Nepal on Tuesday, just three weeks after the massive 7.8 quake that killed more than 8,000 people. Tuesday’s 7.3 temblor already caused a rising number of deaths, and flattened some buildings, which had withstood the previous earthquake.

Below is the original post with a list of relief organizations working to help Nepal.

Google has launched a People Finder tool to connect victims with relatives and friends. PayPal is helping to facilitate donations online.

Many aid organizations are working in the region to help with rescue and recovery. CNN has a good list of what each charity is doing in Nepal. Charity Navigator has a list of organizations working in Nepal, which have high ratings for effective work.

Here’s a more extensive list (from the NY Times):

Red Cross: redcross.org

The Nepal Red Cross Society .

American Jewish World Service: ajws.org

The Salvation Army: salvationarmyusa.org

International Medical Corps:internationalmedicalcorps.org

Handicap International: handicap-international.us

Unicef: www.unicefusa.org/nepal Toll free: 1-800-FOR-KIDS; Text “Nepal” to 864233 (UNICEF) to make a $10 donation. (As with any emergency, in the event that donations exceed anticipated needs, the U.S. Fund will redirect any excess funds to children in greatest need.)

Mercy Corps: mercycorps.org

Catholic Relief Services: crs.org

Habitat for Humanity International: habitat.org

Global Giving: globalgiving.org

The American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee: jdc.org

Oxfam: oxfamamerica.org

World Vision: worldvision.org

United Nations World Food Program: wfp.org

Samaritan’s Purse: samaritanspurse.org

CARE: care.org

Save the Children: savethechildren.org

Lutheran World Relief: lwr.org

The Jewish Federations of North America: jewishfederations.org

SOS: Children’s Villages International: sos-childrensvillages.org

Doctors Without Borders: donate.doctorswithoutborders.org

MAP International: mapinternational.org