Oscars 2015: Full list

Written by

The full list of Oscar nominees and winners is below, with links to relevant KCRW interviews.

The 87th Oscars:

Best Picture:
“American Sniper”
** WINNER “Birdman”
“The Grand Budapest Hotel”
“The Imitation Game”
“The Theory of Everything”

Best Actor:
Steve Carell, “Foxcatcher”
Bradley Cooper, “American Sniper”
Benedict Cumberbatch, “The Imitation Game”
Michael Keaton, “Birdman”
** WINNER Eddie Redmayne, “The Theory of Everything”

Best Actress:
Marion Cotillard, “Two Days, One Night”
Felicity Jones, ‘The Theory of Everything”
** WINNER Julianne Moore, “Still Alice”
Rosamund Pike, “Gone Girl”
Reese Witherspoon, “Wild”

Best Supporting Actor:
Robert Duvall, “The Judge”
Ethan Hawke, “Boyhood”
Edward Norton, “Birdman”
Mark Ruffalo, “Foxcatcher”
** WINNER J.K. Simmons, “Whiplash”

Best Supporting Actress:
** WINNER Patricia Arquette, “Boyhood”

Laura Dern, “Wild”
Keira Knightley, “The Imitation Game”
Emma Stone, “Birdman”
Meryl Streep, “Into the Woods”

Best Director:
Richard Linklater, “Boyhood”
** WINNER Alejandro González Iñárritu, “Birdman”
Bennett Miller, “Foxcatcher”
Wes Anderson, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Morten Tyldum, “The Imitation Game”

Best Foreign Language Film:
“Wild Tales,” (Argentina), Damián Szifrón, director
“Tangerines” (Estonia), Zaza Urushadze, director
“Timbuktu” (Mauritania), Abderrahmane Sissako, director
** WINNER “Ida” (Poland), Paweł Pawlikowski, director
“Leviathan” (Russia), Andrey Zvyagintsev, director

Best Screenplay (Adaptation):
Jason Hall, “American Sniper”
** WINNER Graham Moore, “The Imitation Game
Paul Thomas Anderson, “Inherent Vice”
Anthony McCarten, “The Theory of Everything”
Damien Chazelle, “Whiplash”

Best Screenplay (Original):

** WINNER Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. & Armando Bo, “Birdman”
Richard Linklater, “Boyhood”
E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman, “Foxcatcher”
Wes Anderson, “The Grand Budapest Hotel” (Story by Wes Anderson & Hugo Guinness)
Dan Gilroy, “Nightcrawler”

Best Cinematography:
** WINNER Emmanuel Lubezki, “Birdman”

Robert D. Yeoman, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Ryszard Lenczewski and Łukasz Żal, “Ida”
Dick Pope, “Mr. Turner”
Roger Deakins, “Unbroken”

Best Costume Design:
** WINNER Milena Canonero, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”

Mark Bridges, “Inherent Vice”
Colleen Atwood, “Into the Woods”
Anna B. Sheppard and Jane Clive, “Maleficent”
Jacqueline Durran, “Mr. Turner”

Best Makeup and Hairstyling:
Bill Corso and Dennis Liddiard, “Foxcatcher”
Frances Hannon and Mark Coulier, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”
Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou and David White, “Guardians of the Galaxy”

Best Original Score:
James Gunn, “Guardians of the Galaxy”
** WINNER Alexandre Desplat, “The Grand Budapest Hotel”

Hans Zimmer, “Interstellar”

Gary Yershon, “Mr. Turner”
Johann Johannsson, “The Theory of Everything”

Best Animated Feature Film:
** WINNER “Big Hero 6”

“The Boxtrolls”
“How to Train Your Dragon 2”
“Song of the Sea”
“The Tale of the Princess Kaguya”

Best Documentary Feature:
** WINNER “CitizenFour” – Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy and Dirk Wilutzky

“Finding Vivian Maier” – John Maloof and Charlie Siskel
“Last Days in Vietnam” – Rory Kennedy and Keven McAlester
“The Salt of the Earth” – Wim Wenders, Juliano Ribeiro Salgado and David Rosier
“Virunga” – Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara

Best Documentary Short Subject:
** WINNER “Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1,” Perry Films

“Joanna,” Wajda Studio
“Our Curse,” Warsaw Film School
“The Reaper (La Parka),” Centro de Capacitación Cinematográfica
“White Earth,” Weary Traveler

Best Film Editing:
Joel Cox & Gary Roach, “American Sniper”
Sandra Adair, “Boyhood”
Barney Pilling, “The Grand Budapest Hotel
William Goldenberg, “The Imitation Game”
** WINNER Tom Cross, “Whiplash”

Best Original Song:
“Lost Stars” from Begin Again – Music and lyrics by Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisebois
“I’m Not Gonna Miss You” from “Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me” – Music and lyrics by Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond
“Everything Is Awesome” from “The Lego Movie”
 – Music and lyrics by Shawn Patterson
** WINNER “Glory” from “Selma” – Music and lyrics by John Stephens and Lonnie Lynn
“Grateful” from “Beyond the Lights” – Music and lyrics by Diane Warren

Best Production Design:
** WINNER “The Grand Budapest Hotel” – Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock

“The Imitation Game” – Production Design: Maria Djurkovic; Set Decoration: Tatiana Macdonald
“Interstellar” – Production Design: Nathan Crowley; Set Decoration: Gary Fettis
“Into the Woods” – Production Design: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock
“Mr. Turner” – Production Design: Suzie Davies; Set Decoration: Charlotte Watts

Best Animated Short Film:
“The Bigger Picture,” Daisy Jacobs, director, and Christopher Hees, producer (National Film and Television School)
“The Dam Keeper,” Robert Kondo and Dice Tsutsumi, directors (Tonko House)
** WINNER “Feast,” Patrick Osborne, director, and Kristina Reed, producer (Walt Disney Animation Studios)
“Me and My Moulton,” Torill Kove, director (Mikrofilm in co-production with the National Film Board of Canada)
“A Single Life,” Joris Oprins, director (Job, Joris & Marieke)

Best Live Action Short Film:
“Aya,” Oded Binnun and Mihal Brezis, directors
“Boogaloo and Graham,” Michael Lennox, director, and Ronan Blaney, writer
“Butter Lamp (La Lampe Au Beurre De Yak),” Hu Wei, director, and Julien Féret, producer
“Parvaneh,” Talkhon Hamzavi, director, and Stefan Eichenberger, producer
** WINNER “The Phone Call,” Mat Kirkby, director, and James Lucas, writer

Best Sound Editing:
** WINNER “American Sniper”

“The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies”

Best Sound Mixing:
“American Sniper”
** WINNER “Whiplash”

Best Visual Effects:
“Captain America: The Winter Soldier”
“Dawn of the Planet of the Apes”
“Guardians of the Galaxy”
** WINNER “Interstellar”
“X-Men: Days of Future Past”

Updated with winners: February 23, 2015