Album Preview: Bryan Ferry — “Olympia”

Written by

Bryan Ferry’s new album is already get a lot of love on our airwaves – I heard Anne Litt singing its praises this weekend – and now you can hear it streaming in its entirety as part of our Album Preview series here!

Morning Becomes Eclectic host Jason Bentley tells us why you should go listen!

“For the better part of four decades, Bryan Ferry has been an arbiter of cool as a solo artist and founding member of Roxy Music. Occupying a space where music and fashion intermingle effortlessly, Ferry is still one of Glam-Rock’s leading men.  Consequently, when he releases his first album of original material in over eight years, the ears of music fans of all sorts are bound to perk up.

The first hint of new material came last year when the single “You Can Dance” first cropped up as a collaboration with German DJ Hell.  Rumors began to swirl of a new album and the possibility of Roxy Music’s original lineup assembling for a tour in 2010.  Alas, there’s been no confirmation of a Roxy tour to date, but with this new full solo album now in hand, we’ll take it as it comes.

What makes Olympia all the more tantalizing is the presence of appearances from Roxy Music alum, including Phil Manzanera, Andrew Mackay and Brian Eno.  But the all-star role-call doesn’t end there, with guest spots from the likes of Flea, Jonny Greenwood of Radiohead, Mani from the Stone Roses, Andy Cato of Groove Armada, and Steve Nieve of Elvis Costello & the Attractions fame, as well as longtime collaborators David Gilmour, Chris Spedding and Nile Rodgers.  Even three of Ferry’s sons, Tara, Merlin & Isaac, contribute to the festivities.

Prepare yourself for a slick and seductive dance, like a weekend tryst of atmosphere and rhythm. Ferry’s voice is in fine form here, warbling and whispering in his inimitable fashion, while the band and special guests provide the perfect backdrop for Ferry’s timeless style.  Always a cause for celebration, Ferry’s new release meets all expectations with his usual aplomb.”

Jason Bentley, KCRW Music Director and host of Morning Becomes Eclectic

“Olympia” Track listing:

Olympia_1. You Can Dance

2. Alphaville

3. Heartache By Numbers

4. Me Oh My

5. Shameless

6. Song To The Siren

7. No Face, No Name, No Number

8. BF Bass (Ode To Olympia)

9. Reason or Rhyme

10. Tender Is The Night