Album Preview: Fitz and the Tantrums

Written by


Fitz & the Tantrums made their live radio debut on KCRW last year and played our blockbuster SXSW showcase. Now we are pleased to offer up a stream of their full length debutBreakin’ The Chains of Love.” More from DJ Eric J Lawrence:

Fitz and the Tantrums, “Breakin’ The Chains of Love” (Dangerbird Records)

fitz album cover_Los Angeles might not be the first place you think of when it comes to being the home of classic blue-eyed soul music, but Fitz of Fitz and the Tantrums is doing his best to change that.  Their debut album, Pickin’ Up the Pieces, to be released on renowned LA-based label Dangerbird Records, celebrates the infectious sounds of 60s-era R&B without being mere pastiche.  Punchy tracks like “Breakin’ the Chains of Love” and “MoneyGrabber” manage to sound both cutting-edge and timeless at the same time, echoing a range of artists from Tom Jones, David Ruffin, Daryl Hall and Raphael Saadiq.

But the group is not just a big soul voice – the band, anchored by the catchy interplay between organ, sax, bass & drums, is sharp and funky, featuring players having previously worked with Macy Gray, De La Soul and others.  And back-up singer Noelle Scaggs is much more than just a mere back-up; she’s a force all her own, expertly trading riffs with Fitz.  We here at KCRW were immediate fans of their debut EP, released a mere year and a half ago, but with this full album Fitz and the Tantrums is set to make themselves a household name.

“Breakin’ The Chains of Love” Track listing:

1. Breakin’ The Chains of Love

2. Dear Mr. President

3. Pickin’ Up The Pieces

4. MoneyGrabber

5. L.O.V.

6. News 4 U

7. Don’t Gotta Work It Out

8. Rich Girls

9. Winds of Change

10. Tighter