KCRW Broadcast 231

Fanatics! Summer fairly flew by us yet we managed to stay Fanatic throughout. I know that in many parts of the world, the heat is still with you. In Los Angeles, it’s now getting momentum. I think we are going to have quite the brick oven over the next few weeks.

I saw Ty Segall play several days ago in Eagle Rock. Excellent to hear live versions of all the Sleeper tracks. I am still playing that album all the time.

I also saw Inger Lorre make the rare live appearance at the Redwood last week. Very cool to see her onstage again.

One of the many things that gives tonight’s show great appeal is that we are able to unveil some very new tracks for you.

You remember weeks ago, we rocked track from the Fuzz single? Fuzz are Roland Cosio on bass, Charlie Moothart on guitar and Ty Segall on drums and vocals. Their new album is coming out soon-ish on In The Red. We were able to work it out with the band and the label to bring it to you way in advance. We will roll out a track a week and see how that sits with you. This is a great record! You can check out the album sleeve here: http://www.intheredrecords.com/pages/news.html

Also, we got the go ahead to rock tracks from VUM’s new album, Psychotropic Jukebox. This is a great one. The band said we could start tonight! I am so happy about this. One of my favorite things is being able to put up tracks before they are in the stores so you Fanatics get the edge. We do it whenever we can. You can get more information on the VUM album here: http://vummusic.com/. It is an excellent piece of work and I hope you will see fit in helping them bring this album out. Thanks to VUM for letting us do this.

Also, another track from the Anti-Job. New EP out now. http://www.theanti-job.com/ for more information.

September is a transitional month. Not really summer and not all that fall. I tried to compose a set of tunes that would address all that. If you notice, there is the DC hot weather set as well as in hour two, songs that have autumn in their title.

In our second hour, you will notice that we start it off with new Vice Cooler. VC just sent new jams to Engineer X and they were passed onto me. At this moment, I don’t have information on how to get the singles, of which I believe there are two. I will see if I can get info and tell you during the show.

Also, on the killer re-issue label, Superior Viaduct, the Glaxo Babies album Put Me On The Guest List will be coming out in late October. I thought we would jump the gun and rock one of the tracks tonight. Could this be the first ever domestic release of a Glaxo rekkid? Bravo!

At the end of the summer, I feel like it’s the end of a tour. I hope that you dug the sheer tonnage of tunes we hurled at you over the last several shows.

I will dig deep and come up with some great set lists for you as the weather cools. There are so many ways to go.

I hope you get a chance to listen to the show tonight. I know that many of you are celebrating the long weekend. I hope you have a great one. As soon as you get a chance, get this show listened to.

Have you seen this?! Dept: The box set from hell is going to drop 10/22/13. Damn, Fanatic, I don’t know if I have the back to lift it. King Crimson’s Road To Red. Twenty-Four CDs! The Amazon.com thing says the box has sixteen Red-era shows, new mixes of the album as well as a remastered version of USA. It’s a lot of King Crimson, total overkill, 100% Fanatic. I’m in.

Hopefully, the new Fall box set will arrive soon so we can lay some of that on you. I can’t wait for this one.

There is a lot of listening to do. Be safe over the holiday and STAY FANATIC!!!  
–– Henry

E–mail address for me: henryontheradio@gmail.com
Follow me on Twitter: @henryrollins 

Hour 1
01. Sort Sol - Shapes Of Summer / The Blackest Box
02. The Nymphs – Just One Happy Day / Nymphs
03. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - The Moon Is In The Gutter / single
04. The Damned - Sick Of Being Sick / single
05. The Cramps - Human Fly CB’s 01-13-78 / How To Make A Monster
06. Rites Of Spring - Drink Deep / Rites of Spring
07. The Warmers - Walking Solves It / The Warmers
08. Embrace - Dance of Days / Embrace
09. Rain - Snakeout (Clean Edit) / La Vache Qui Rit
10. The Teen Idles - Get Up And Go / 20 Years Of Dischord
11. Fuzz – HazeMaze / Fuzz
12. VUM – Badlands / Psychotropic Jukebox
13. The Anti-Job - Miss You / EP
14. White Fence - Groundskeeper Rag (Man’s Man) / Family Perfume Vol. 2

Hour 2
01. Vice Cooler - Blood On The Marquis / single
02. The Spinners - The Rubberband Man / The Very Best Of
03. Happy Go Licky – Ansol / Will Play
04. Glaxo Babies - This is Your Life / Put Me On The Guest List
05. The Snakes - Six O’Clock / I Won’t Love You (Til You’re More Like Me)
06. Xeno & Oaklander - Autumn’s Edge / Sets & Lights
07. Autumn Galaxy – Gunpowder / Harappa
08. Steven R. Smith - Wan And Smiling Assent / Autumn Is The End
09. Mark Robinson - {Silence!} /2004 Teenbeat Sampler
10. Frank Zappa - I’m Not Satisfied / Cruising With Ruben & The Jets
11. Ty Segall - The Keepers / Sleeper
12. The Heartbreakers - Born To Lose (Original Mix) / L.A.M.F. Definitive Edition
13. Discharge - Tomorrow Belongs to Us / Singles
14. The Puppies - Secret Agent Girl / The Puppies