Album Preview: Neil Young “Le Noise” (Vapor)

Written by

Stream Neil Young’s latest album, produced by Daniel Lanois, in its entirety as part of KCRW’s Album Preview series. Also, KCRW has exclusive video of Neil performing the song “Sign of Love” – check it all out here!

From KCRW DJ Eric J Lawrence:

Le NoiseThe release of any new Neil Young album is always cause for celebration, as he remains the most consistently note-worthy artist regularly producing records over the past 40+ years.

What makes his newest album, Le Noise, even more special is the contributions from producer Daniel Lanois, who brings his Grammy Award-winning touch to Young’s inimitable style.

At heart, the record is almost skeletally simple: Young alone, singing and playing a guitar on eight new tracks.  But Lanois’ production opens a wide sonic vista that takes the songs to another level, blending electronic and acoustic elements with Young’s own powerful performances.  The lead track, “Walk with Me,” exemplifies their technique: a slashing, chiming guitar-line breaks down into a buzzing drone, while Young’s pleading vocals cascade into the musical horizon.  It’s affecting stuff from two master craftsmen meshing their talents perfectly.

Eric J. Lawrence, KCRW Music Librarian and DJ

Editor’s Note: Neil Young appeared on Morning Becomes Eclectic on August 4 and August 5 to talk about his work and share some songs.